Grass Wheeling

I don’t know if anyone uses the term “wheeling” anymore to describe flirting, but it was big back in middle school.

It meant something very different last week when I made a grass wheel, to help out with the interface. Around mid-July, Lucy and Lulu found the perfect feature for the homepage – a wheel of grass around the timer. The problem was, the image they found was copyrighted. Because it’s such a prominent feature of the app, they asked me to try my hand at ‘grass wheeling’ so we’d have multiple options for the final file used.

It took me a LONG time to make this image – more than a couple hours. Someone with more experience in Illustrator might have been able to do it in shorter time, but I’m getting there. I thought that there must be a feature in Illustrator that allows you to ‘bend’ images into circles; however, I couldn’t find one. I had to rotate each piece of grass around the circle myself. I’m pretty pleased with it! I should be, given how much time I invested in it.

Screen Shot 2016-08-29 at 12.01.26 PM

Leave a Reply

